Entries open for 2016 Concrete3 Sustainability Awards


The Cement and Concrete Association of New Zealand’s (CCANZ) 2016 Concrete3 Sustainability Awards are now open for entry, offering those in the construction industry the chance to be recognised for their sustainable achievements.

In its eighth year, the awards are open to anyone — from architects, designers and engineers to contractors, builders and clients.

CCANZ chief executive Rob Gaimster says it is essential that the industry’s achievements in contributing to sustainable development are acknowledged.

“The Concrete3 Sustainability Awards recognise those within the construction industry who have embraced sustainability as a fundamental commercial concern,” Mr Gaimster says.

“These awards give entrants the opportunity to share their knowledge and experience with their peers while, at the same time, highlighting their accomplishments.”

The Concrete3 Sustainability Awards encourage responsible design, build and operating practices across environmental, economic and social considerations.

There will be five categories from which a supreme winner will be selected: Excellence in Residential Concrete Construction, Excellence in Commercial Concrete Construction, Excellence in Civil Concrete Construction, Excellence in Concrete Innovation, and Excellence in Concrete for the Community.

“Examples of sustainability come in all shapes and sizes, from the smallest residential job to a multi-million dollar civil project,” Mr Gaimster adds.

The 2015 Supreme Award went to Warren and Mahoney Architects for the EA Networks Centre in Ashburton, a multi-purpose indoor sports and aquatics complex that reflects the region’s commitment to leisure and community facilities.

Mr Gaimster says the judges applauded Warren and Mahoney Architects’ use of concrete to achieve durable permanence, thermal efficiency, and an attractive aesthetic, as well as space flexibility in this large community facility that serves the wider Mid-Canterbury region.

Also worthy of note was Studio Pacific Architecture for its Rawhiti Sleepout in the Bay of Islands, which took home the 2015 Excellence in Residential Concrete Construction category.

“The building set out to incorporate the client’s functional brief and considerations of longevity, visual sensitivity and environmental responsiveness. Concrete was key in achieving these aspirations,” Mr Gaimster says.

The 2016 Awards entries will be judged on any of the following criteria:

Lean production, less waste

Managing natural resources

Minimising energy use

Protecting against pollution

Respect for people

Setting performance targets

Entries remain open until Friday, September 9, 2016. Entry information and forms can be found at www.sustainableconcrete.org.nz.

The winner will be announced at a presentation at the 2016 New Zealand Concrete Industry Conference on October 7, 2016, at the Ellerslie Event Centre in Auckland.